Back on the Horse

It’s been a long two weeks around here. Days on end of heavy rains and increased work responsibilities have left Northern California and my training a soggy mess. I had a plan at the beginning of the season and it didn’t include a few weeks of miserable, short fixed-gear riding in torrential rain and too many days on the trainer. But all that went away today with the end of a work project and the return of bright, sunny skies. Undoubtedly, we’ll have a few more days of rain and a few cold mornings ’til summer but it felt like spring arrived when I woke up this morning.

I used to stress about these kinds of interruptions in my riding schedule but I now look at them as blessings in disguise. In fact, I think it’s the interruptions that rekindle the passion for riding and training. Besides, fitness doesn’t go away overnight so I’m learning to just go with it. Plus, I’m more amped to get up early than I have been in months and the weekend can’t get here soon enough. I would imagine it’s the same kind of feeling if you live in an area that truly has seasons. It’s a common occurrence among my friends in the more southerly climes to suffer a mid-season burn-out around May. I’ve never known my cyclist friends in the Northeast or Midwest to suffer the same burnout that early. My friends in New England are always stoked when things thaw out.

Maybe it’s time to view interruptions as a vital part of training. Maybe periods of not riding and even the ensuing frustration are actually as important to the journey as those seasons when all our available time is spent in the saddle. Honestly, I might just be saying that to make myself feel better because I’ve been out of the saddle for a bit. But I can’t deny that I’m actually stoked to get up at 5am when I know that the roads are clear and Spring is here.

So what do you do? How do you handle interruptions in your training schedule when weather or life intervene? Be encouraged! Whether bad weather, overload at work, or other responsibilities come your way, remember that “this too shall pass.” Besides, Spring is upon us and we’re off to the races.

Ride on…

7 responses

  1. Andy Wilson

    Firstly…sweet win for JHU on Sat!! They’re getting better every week. Another tough one this weekend against UNC.

    You’re describing the reality of living in the Northeast. It’s a long winter! I just finished my 12 week indoor training program, but it’s still too dark and cold to ride in the morning and with only 1 evening during the week I can ride, it’s real tough! I’m always bursting with energy and enthusiasm this time of year to get out on the road. But, the truth is, March in New Hampshire is not ideal weather to say the least! Cold, windy, wet…sucks! And the weather can be like this for another month. I’ll keep using the trainer in the morning probably until late April. You’re right, burn-out does not happen here!

    March 29, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    • The Art of the Group Ride

      Just hold out a little bit longer…spring’s on the way!! 🙂 We’ll see what happens in the Carolina game…

      March 31, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      • The Art of the Group Ride

        Another sweet win for the Jays! Kinda sloppy game. Billy Bitter is unbelievable

        April 3, 2011 at 8:19 pm

  2. Andy Wilson

    woke up to 5″ of snow this morning…ouch!

    April 1, 2011 at 7:27 am

    • The Art of the Group Ride

      Are roads starting to thaw out yet?

      April 3, 2011 at 8:17 pm

      • Andy Wilson

        YES! That’s the good news, the snow melts pretty quickly this time of year. I was able to get out and ride on both Sat. and Sun.

        April 4, 2011 at 5:39 am

      • The Art of the Group Ride

        Sweet! Best time of year I think

        April 6, 2011 at 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

