Ideal Post-Training Ride Routine

If you’re like me, you try to squeeze every last second out of every ride. Time in the saddle for me is extremely limited based on family, work, and life concerns so I try to make the most of every opportunity even if it means skipping out on stretching (or a shower!). Most often, I roll home and run through the door, change on the fly and run out to whatever I’m already late for. Sound familiar?

Every once in a while, I get a chance to indulge in my ideal post-ride routine. As an extremely amateur cyclist, I don’t have a physio or soigneur waiting for me with an iced towel, massage, or recovery embrocation, but I do have a few things that I do to help recovery. If I have the time, here’s my ideal post-training ride routine:

  1. As soon as I walk through the door, I’ll make a recovery drink. I usually go with a product like cytomax or something similar but I’ve also been known to make a milk shake with protein powder, ice cream, and herseys syrup. Sometimes just the thought of that during a long ride keeps the pedals turning.
  2. Change out of cycling clothes into comfortable shorts and stretch while downing recovery drink. I like to stretch for about 20 minutes.
  3. HOT shower.
  4. Lay on the couch with legs elevated. I have a massage device called The Stick that I roll over quads and calves. A massage would be really ideal but that would require motivation to leave the house because I’ll never have the pros’ option of a physio or soigneur coming to me. I’ll keep my legs elevated for as long as I can keep my eyes open.
  5. Nap. But just before, I’ll eat something light (bowl of cereal or yogurt and granola) to give my body something to work on and recover while I sleep. Nap can last from 1-2 hours.
  6. I usually wake up hungry. If I’m ravenously hungry then I’ll know I didn’t eat enough on the ride or before napping. Continuing to eat and drink after a ride is important for recovery. For this post-nap meal, I try to keep it organic and fresh including veggies, pasta, and chicken.
  7. The rest of my idyllic day will find me with legs elevated and only walking when absolutely necessary. Perfection would be an afternoon of Paris-Roubaix coverage on Versus.

Disclaimer: This hardly ever occurs. If I have a few spare minutes, I’ll do a few of these things like make a recovery drink and stretch but like I said, most of the time I’m flying off to whatever’s next.

What’s your Ideal Post-Training Ride Routine? Leave a comment and let us know.

Ride on…

Leave a Reply

