Windproof Your Feet on the Cheap

[tweetmeme only_single=false source=”artofgroupride”]

You’ll either love this or laugh. It’s either smart or ridiculous.

Here’s a little tip I got years back – can’t even remember where. For some reason, I have a difficult time keeping toes and fingers warm in the winter when I don’t dress right. So here’s what I do for feet when it’s below freezing: warming embrocation, thermal socks wrapped in a sandwich baggie, shoe, then booties. Seems like a lot, I know. But when a bike ride feels more like skiing, the extra plastic windproof layer takes the edge off. And I don’t even feel the baggie or the seam in my shoe. Super-nerd or super-resourceful. You make the call.

What do you do for cold feet? Give the sandwich baggies a shot on your next cold ride and let me know if it works for you.

Ride on…

2 responses

  1. Love it!

    December 16, 2010 at 10:00 am

    • The Art of the Group Ride

      Curious if this is common practice in Colorado? Any other winter riding solutions you know of in the Rocky Mtn state?

      December 21, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Leave a Reply

