8 Ways a Group Ride is Like “Fight Club” – Part 2

Yesterday, I posted Part One of 8 Ways a Group Ride is Like “Fight Club.” I encourage you to read the introduction to this series from yesterday’s post before launching into today’s. This post won’t make much sense otherwise. Here’s the continuation, Rules 6, 7, and 8, with adapted explanations for a Group Ride:

#6 – No shirts, no shoes.

  • There are some rules when it comes to basic, essential attire in a Group Ride. That’s just the way it is. You don’t need a $5,000 bike, a pair of $500 Assos bibs, or the hottest Italian shoes in order to fit in but don’t expect someone to let you in out of the wind if you show up in board shorts and running shoes. You know who I’ll think twice about making room for in a paceline? The dude that shows up on the huge Saturday ride in a skateboarding helmet and t-shirt. Why? ‘Cause if he hasn’t made the basic investment in clothes that work then he’s tipped his hand that he shouldn’t be out there. And he’s probably riding a bike with loose skewers. I don’t want to follow that squirrely guy around a 90 degree downhill corner at 30mph.

#7 – Fights will go on as long as they have to.

  • Some of the best advice I received about cycling came from a 55 year old friend who’s been racing for 40 years and owns multiple national and world masters championships. He told me to take a long-view of this cycling thing. There will be seasons of life where the miles and hours come freely. Other times, he told me, you have to scrap and fight to simply get out on the road a couple of times a week. A bad race or limited training time used to get me down. It would affect other parts of my life and leave me grumpy and pissed off. But you know when I’m most passionate about cycling? When it doesn’t own me and when it’s in its proper, prioritized place in my life. My 55 year old sensei told me that cycling tends to breed or bring out obsessive tendencies in us when it comes to getting the miles in but first things must come first, whatever that means in your life. Unless you’re riding the bike to pay the bills, time off the bike can actually be a good thing for regenerating your passion for riding. So take a long-view. The fight will go on. The road will still be there when you get back. Just make sure to get yourself back in the fight when the time’s right.
#8 – If this is your first night at Fight Club, you have to fight.
  • This is initiation. If you’re headed out to your first big Group Ride, just know you will get dropped. I don’t mean your first Group Ride in a new area if you’ve been doing Group Rides for years in your old hometown. I mean, your very first Group Ride ever. Dropped. It’s ok. You’ll have aspirations, you’ll hang on as long as you can dangling off the back. But you won’t know where the ride twists and turns or where the regular surges go down. When I first started riding, it took me 2 months just to finish with the big Saturday ride and another 6 months before I started to feel comfortable in the pack. Six months! You may adjust more quickly. Just don’t beat yourself up if you can’t keep up for a few months. Keep at it. You’ll come around. You’ll get stronger. That’s why Group Rides are so awesome. A great truth about cycling that I’ve mentioned before: the best way to become a better, stronger rider is to ride with better, stronger riders. Just know that every single person in the Group Ride including the hot local pro and the old grizzly veteran had to start somewhere. And we all took our turns in those early days getting shelled and dropped. The best fighters at Fight Club have just been at it longer than most, persevering.

There you have it! Any reactions? Any insights to add? Would love to hear.

Ride on…

3 responses

  1. Great two-post series. I’m squarely in Rule #8 right now. I just started riding with the fast group a few weeks ago and it’s a chore just to hang on right now. I can’t stay with’em for more than 7-10 miles right now but if I keep going out there I hope to make it longer each time.

    April 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    • The Art of the Group Ride

      Hi Bryan, thanks for your comment and keep at it! After getting dropped in the first mile of my first group ride I remember saying out loud, “See ya next week.” Then hung on for 2 more miles the next time out. Preservere and you’ll be trading pulls at the front before you know it! There’s nothing like a hard group ride to keep it interesting and fresh. You might want to check out the 3 post series “Common Pitfalls” under Group Ride Wisdom. Thanks!

      April 22, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  2. Pingback: 8 Ways a Group Ride is Like “Fight Club” – Part 1 « The Art of the Group Ride

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.